The collaborative concept was originally conceived by local development groups in the Matatiele area in 2008 in an attempt to improve effectiveness in tackling alien plant infestation in the upper catchment. The alliance was officially formed in March 2013, under an initiative supported by CEPF, and driven by ERS and CSA. 

Current partners signed onto the MoU are:

  • African Solutions for African Problems (ASAP)
  • Alfred Nzo District Municipality
  • Alfred Nzo Development Agency
  • Amazawa Agricultural Co-op
  • Bakoena Traditional Council
  • The Cedarville Conservancy
  • Conservation South Africa (CSA)
  • The Department of Agriculture Forestry and Fisheries (Eastern Cape)
  • The Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA)
  • The Department of Economic Development, Environment Affairs and Tourism (DEDEAT Eastern Cape)
  • The Department of Rural Development and Agrarian Reform (Eastern Cape)
  • The Department of Water Affairs & Sanitation (DWAS Eastern Cape region)
  • Eastern Cape Parks and Tourism Agency (ECPTA)
  • Eastern Cape NGO Coalition
  • Endangered Wildlife Trust (EWT)
  • Environmental & Rural Solutions (ERS)
  • Freedom Challenge
  • LIMA Rural Development Foundation
  • Maloti Drakensberg Transfrontier Project (MDTP)
  • Matatiele Local Municipality
  • Mehloding Trust
  • Moshesh Traditional Council
  • Mount Currie Community Development Organisation
  • South Africa National Biodiversity Institute
  • Save Act
  • Sikhululiwe Bawo Women’s Co-operative
  • Sustaining the Wild Coast (SWC)
  • Wildlife and Environment Society of South Africa (WESSA)
  • Wildlands Conservation Trust (WCT)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

catchment conservation partnership

%d bloggers like this: